Musings of a Loud Introvert
Sh*t I Just Quit My Job
Sh*t I Was Blindsided by Burnout
0:00
-1:03:15

Sh*t I Was Blindsided by Burnout

A conversation with Erayna Sargent

People say rest is revolutionary, but how often do you take time for yourself? And in the rare case you do stop to take a breath, do you (like me) feel guilty? 

The world is rigged for us to do, do and do. We’ve been told that to get ahead we must  aim higher and work harder than anybody else. The problem starts when our health - physical, mental and emotional - suffers from all of this doing. 

Enter Erayna Sargent, my guest today. 

Erayna is a burnout expert, an author and a speaker. Her company, Hooky Wellness, is focused on bringing much needed relief for people who are in danger of burning out. After a successful career in marketing and innovation for consumer goods and tech companies, Erayna found herself blindsided by burnout. She realized her playbook - the one that told her to work harder - wasn’t working anymore.  What she was doing wasn’t fulfilling her and she didn’t know what was next. So, after a much needed break, she jumped down the entrepreneurship route to help people who, like her, were finding that they needed a better way to manage stress and prevent burnout. 

I sit down with Erayna to talk about her journey, the pillars of mental wellness, tactics for figuring out what’s next and what we can do to take better care of ourselves.

About Erayna Sargent:

Erayna is a dynamic speaker, author, and founder of Hooky Wellness. As a seasoned marketing and innovation leader across diverse industries, including workspace design, consumer goods, and tech, Erayna brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to her work.

Her commitment lies in empowering high-achieving professionals to proactively identify and address burnout through her program, Navigating Burnout™. This pioneering approach fuses design thinking with mental wellness, establishing a relatable space for self-reflection and connection. Participants emerge equipped to craft personalized burnout relief strategies

Erayna’s expertise has supported thousands of lives across renowned companies including Microsoft, LinkedIn, Google, Netflix, Deloitte, and more. She holds an MBA from Indiana University and is a contributor for Well+Good and has been featured in NPR LifeKit, Thrive Global, Change Catalyst, Architectural Digest, and Balanced Black Girl Podcast. 

Website:

Social media:

Instagram: @Hookywellness 

0 Comments
Musings of a Loud Introvert
Sh*t I Just Quit My Job
Ever stood on the edge of a big decision, wondering if it's the right move? If you've ever wondered, "Is this it?" while gazing at your daily grind, you're not alone. After making it to the top of the company I had worked at for eleven years, I took a leap, and all I could say was, "Sh*t, I just quit my job!" The future's hazy, but many have faced the same uncertainty and come out stronger. We usually hear about their successes after the leap, but what about the messy middle? How'd they find the courage? What were their fears? What would they do differently? And how did they discover what they really wanted? Each week, I'll share stories of people who've taken big leaps, and I'll talk about my own journey. Join us as we explore change, resilience, and finding fulfillment in the unknown. "Sht I Just Quit My Job" is your guide to embracing the messy middle and discovering your potential beyond uncertainty.